Home > EFT Exercises/Tapping Scripts, Stress Manangement > Breathe Easier! EFT Constricted Breathing Exercise

Breathe Easier! EFT Constricted Breathing Exercise

August 24, 2008

Adapted by Angie Muccillo

In this fast paced world our breathing can become extremely shallow, especially when we are stressed or literally don’t stop to take a breath because we are so frantic and busy, trying to cope with the pressures of life.

TRY THIS EXERCISE to promote deeper breathing, improve lung capacity, increase oxygen uptake in the body, reduce anxiety and overwhelm, increase energy levels & reduce fatigue. Gary Craig first described the Constricted Breathing Technique in his DVD set EFT-Beyond the Basics.

Step 1:

Take three deep breaths. On the third breath, judge on a scale of 0-10 (where 0 means you can’t breathe at all and 10 is the deepest breath you could possibly take), how deep are you breathing right now? Make a note of your number…

Step 2:

Starting at the karate chop point, tap with index and finger of the opposite hand, continuously on this point whilst repeating each statement out loud or in your mind:

“Even though I have this constricted breathing, I deeply and completely accept myself.”

“Even though I have this constricted breathing, I choose to breathe deeply.”

“Even though I have this constricted breathing, I ask my body to remember how to breathe deeply.”

“Even though I have this constricted breathing, I ask my lungs to open up”

Step 3:

Tap or rub each treatment point about 5-7 times whilst repeating the following phrases. Repeat 2-3 rounds

EB: “This constricted breathing”
SE: “This constricted breathing”
UE: “This constricted breathing”
UN: “This constricted breathing”
CH: “This constricted breathing”
CB: “I ask my lungs to open up”
UA: “I remember how to breathe deeply”
UB: “I choose to breathe deeply”

Step 4:

Return to the karate chop point, tap continuously while repeating the following statements aloud:

“Even though I still have some of this constricted breathing, I ask my body to remember how to breathe deeply.”

“Even though I still have some of this constricted breathing, I ask my breathing muscles to relax and breathe deeply.”

“Even though I still have some of this constricted breathing, I choose to inhale deeply.”

Step 5:

Tap or rub each treatment point about 5-7 times whilst repeating the following phrases. Repeat 2-3 cycles

EB: “Remaining constricted breathing”
SE: “Remaining constricted breathing”
UE: “Remaining constricted breathing”
UN: “Remaining constricted breathing”
CH: “Remaining constricted breathing”
CB: “I remember how to breathe deeply”
UA: “I choose to inhale deeply.”
UB: “My breathing muscles are completely relaxed”

Step 6:

Take a deep breath and really sigh on the out breath…. On a scale of 0-10, how deep are you breathing right now? Have you noticed any changes? Did the air seem to flow in and out more smoothly, with less effort? Did you feel more relaxed and less anxious or worried?

Sometimes breathing difficulties have an underlying emotional cause. If emotional issues surface such as sadness or anxiety, just keep tapping on these points until you feel the intensity of the emotion subside. Doing this will help you release it within a few minutes of tapping, if not completely, to some extent.

Combine this exercise with the EFT Muscle Relaxant Exercise for deep relaxation.

Free EFT Get Started Package: You can learn all the basics for free by downloading the Free EFT Manual by clicking here

Explore or Order The EFT DVD Library: If you want to dive right in then explore the affordable EFT DVD Library by clicking here

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

